Bayless Dune Nature Preserve
Our Board & Advisory Council

Board of Directors

Larry Stanton, Board President
Beverly Shores, Indiana

Matt Vessely, Board Vice President
Valparaiso, Indiana
Regional President at 1st Source

Nancy Johnson, Board Secretary
Portage, Indiana
Executive Director at Legacy Foundation (Retired)

Rachel Saxon, Board Treasurer
Valparaiso, Indiana
President and Senior Trust Officer at Horizon Trust & Investment

Janice Brown
Long Beach, Indiana
Community Activist

Kelly Carmichael
Crown Point, Indiana
VP Environmental Safety and Sustainability at NiSource

Tom Cera
Gary, Indiana
Executive Consultant

Sean Hay
Valparaiso, Indiana

Evie Kirkwood
Edwardsburg, Michigan
St. Joseph County Parks Director (Retired)

Leah Konrady
Michiana Shores, Indiana
CEO of Konrady Plastics, Inc.

Christine Livingston
La Porte, Indiana
Assistant Director at Indiana Dunes Tourism

Dale Nichols
Beverly Shores, Indiana
Deputy General Counsel at The Northern Trust Company (Retired)

James Martin
Dune Acres, Indiana
Landscape Architect

Wendy Vachet
Gary, Indiana
Regional Environmental Manager at Michael Baker International Inc.

Spero Valavanis
Valparaiso, Indiana
Architect at Shive-Hattery

Therese Vande Hey
Evanston, Illinois
Associate General Counsel at Cleveland Cliffs

Anne Walsh
Chesterton, Indiana
Community Volunteer

Margaret Williford
Beverly Shores, Indiana
Attorney at Burke, Carberry and Costanza (Retired)

Paul Zucker
Chicago, Illinois
Real Estate Developer (Retired)

Life Board Members

Judith Gaskell
Washington DC and Milwaukee, WI
Retired Librarian of the Supreme Court of the United States

Myrna Newgent
Portage, Indiana
Former officer and member of the board of Shirley Heinze Land Trust

Barbara Plampin
Dune Acres, IN
Former board member of Shirley Heinze Land Trust, and retired professor of English at Illinois Institute of Technology

Advisory Council

John Bacone
Director of the Division of Nature Preserves for the Indiana Department of Natural Resources (Retired)

Krista Bailey
Director of Sustainability for Indiana University South Bend

Marty Balogh
Former Shirley Heinze Land Trust Board Member, American Bar Association

Mitch Barloga
Transportation Planning Manager for Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission

Robert Boklund
Vice President of LaPorte County Conservation Trust, member of the Indiana Heritage Trust Project Committee

Terry Bonace
Environmental Protection Agency (Retired)

Mark Bouman
Associate Director of the Science Action Center of the Field Museum of Natural History, Calumet Heritage Partnership

Walt Breitinger
Leading Local Environmental Activist

Jennifer Burkhart
Former Shirley Heinze Land Trust Board Member, small business owner

Kelley Davies
Commercial & Industrial Account Manager at NiSource

Kathy Dennis
Former Shirley Heinze Land Trust Office and Board Member, Non-Profit Development Director

Ryan Dvorak
Member of the Indiana House of Representatives

Kareemah Fowler
City of South Bend’s 22nd City Clerk

Jonathan Geels
Landscape Architect at Troyer Group, President of the Indiana American Society of Landscape Architects

Tim Griffin
Former Shirley Heinze Land Trust Officer and Board Member, retired educator

Garry Harrington
Director for City of South Bend’s Rum Village Nature Center

Jonathan Hildebrand
Former Shirley Heinze Land Trust Officer and Board Member, Vice President of Group Operations Manager for Centier Bank

Lance Hodge
Former Shirley Heinze Land Trust Board Member, Vice President of SEI Solutions

Jennifer Kanine
Director of the Department of Natural Resources for the Pokagon Band of the Potawatomi

Mike Keen
LEED Certified Practitioner with Thrive Michiana

Ricky Klee
Instructor of Theology at Notre Dame

Shawn Klein
Planner for the St. Joseph County Area Plan Commission

Chris Kline
Environmental Program Lead for Culver Academy

Paul Kohlhoff
Professor at Valparaiso University School of Law, Past Shirley Heinze Land Trust Executive Director

Howard Learner
Executive Director of the Environmental Law & Policy Center

Ralph Lerner
Benjamin Franklin Professor Emeritus in the College of the University of Chicago, Professor Emeritus on the Committee of Social Thought.

Robert Long
Professor at Grand Valley State University (Retired)

Kathy Luther
Director of Environmental Programs for the Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission (NIRPC)

Pat McKinlay
Development Director (Retired)

Sergio Mendoza
City Planner for the City of Hobart, Former Resources Planner for the Indiana Coastal Management Program, Author of Images of America: Hobart.

Leigh Morris
Chairman of the Northwest Indiana Regional Development Authority, Former Mayor of LaPorte

Scott Namestnik
Botanist at Indiana Department of Natural Resources – Division of Nature Preserves

Chuck Nelson
Executive Director of the Judd Leighton Foundation

Rachel Novick
Director of Minor in Sustainability at Notre Dame

Charles Oberlie
Former Mayor of Michigan City

John Pinter
Principal at Pinter Consulting

Dan Plath
Chief of Natural Resources for the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore

Greg Quartucci
Senior Ecologist and Office Manager for Cardno

Marge Riemenschneider
Retired School Teacher and Conservationist

Rodney Robichaud
Assistant Professor of Biology at Holy Cross College

Laurel Ross
Past Director of the Illinois Nature Conservancy, Former Co-Chair of Chicago Wilderness, Urban Conservation Director at the Field Museum of Natural History (Retired)

Jean Rudd
Consultant on various aspects of management and planning for non-profit organizations, Former President of the Woods Fund of Chicago

Steve Sass
Chapter Leader for Northern Indiana’s Native Plant & Wildflower Society (INPAWS)

Ken Schoon
Professor Emeritus of Science Education at Indiana University Northwest, Member of the Town Council of Munster, Indiana

Tim Stoner
Owner of Woody View Farms

John Swanson
Former Shirley Heinze Land Trust Officer and Board Member, Executive Director of the Northwestern Indiana Planning Commission (Retired)

Ray Szarmach
Practicing Attorney in Lake County, Indiana

Dr. Nicholas Timm
Emergency Medicine Physician in New Carlisle, Indiana

Garry Traynham
Deputy Superintendent of the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore (Retired)

Ronald Trigg
United States Foreign Service Officer (Retired), Past Executive Director of Shirley Heinze Land Trust

James Turnwald
Executive Director of Michiana Area Council of Governments

Suzy Vance
Former Shirley Heinze Land Trust Board Member, Fiber Artist, Life Coach

Lance Werner
Business Manager and CFO of Michigan City Area Schools

Robert Wolfe
Vice President of Technical Services at Cardno

Kathleen Zelkowitz
Valparaiso University (Retired)